Register
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Fake Mag 256?

  1. #11
    Probation
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    no
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for pointing it out. I allready knew it was modified version. Unlike the standard MAG256 it has a built in wifi-antenna.
    But i am still wondering why it has no logo on the front like any other MAG box.
    Anyhow, i have decided to return it. It also has other problems, like freezing up and giving me a black picture.
    I often read on the internet that people have problems with the 256. Also on this forum you can see that people do have problems with this box.

  2. #12
    Desert Storm 90 Bkman2020's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Android World
    Posts
    2,487
    Rep Power
    72
    Could be deffective or a knock off
    Please Read Rules >>>> http://iptvtalk.org/showthread.php?50-Forum-Rules

  3. #13
    Probation
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    yes i do
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    there is no mouse on mag 256 and there is no logo at front of mag. the logo is on top of the box. also it should bring 2 AAA informir battery

  4. #14
    Probation
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    no
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    0
    Could be. I am not sure. Back it goes anyhow.

  5. #15
    Probation
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    no
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    0
    Check the internet and you will see all MAG boxes do have a logo on the front and on top. And how do you know the MAG256 has no mouse?
    When i start the box, and start the internet browser, i can see the arrow of the mouse.
    But i canīt move it with the remote when clicking the arrow button on the remote.

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    yes
    Posts
    139
    Rep Power
    9
    Disregard about people saying its a "fake". I just went through this process with infomir over my 256w1 which also had only 1 USB, and no logo on front, the " MAG" letters logo on the top case.
    I emailed back and forth, sending all the different numbers on the sticker, and the numbers in the settings area. They were surprised that I had already received one, because apparently they are "newer". Confirmed legit device. Only 1x USB (although it says 2x on infomirs site and most sellers sites)

    So anyone who finds this in the future, hopefully this will reduce your stress xD

    Cheers!

  7. #17
    Probation
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    no
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by veronicas View Post
    Disregard about people saying its a "fake". I just went through this process with infomir over my 256w1 which also had only 1 USB, and no logo on front, the " MAG" letters logo on the top case.
    I emailed back and forth, sending all the different numbers on the sticker, and the numbers in the settings area. They were surprised that I had already received one, because apparently they are "newer". Confirmed legit device. Only 1x USB (although it says 2x on infomirs site and most sellers sites)

    So anyone who finds this in the future, hopefully this will reduce your stress xD

    Cheers!

    Ok, thanks for the information. Besides the fake or not fake Mag, the Mag 256w1 has a lot if issues. It freezes often and it restarts sometimes on its own. Lots of people
    have those issues with that box. I have stopped using it. It will return to the store before february 1st.
    People saying that the Mag 254 is the most stable of all the Mag boxes. I heard the Mag 250 is great too.
    I will buy a different brand now.

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    yes
    Posts
    139
    Rep Power
    9
    It sure does have some issues. Have you tried the beta "a7.10" I posted in here in the 256 forum?? The factory reset procedure should be performed after upgrading (instructions in my post). Download the bios file from thenapster 256 section, firmware is also there. Follow directions exactly.

    Give that a try! A LOT of the issues were fixed. The box no longer turns off/on when I turn my TV on/off. (HDMI CEC). YouTube works good.

    Not sure if this affects you but change the "remote control" to the other setting in the inner portal, which then changed all the on screen buttons to match my remote buttons (mine came default set to the 254 remote, which had different button icons than my 256 remote. Makes things WAY less confusing lol

    The best box to have is the Dreamlink T1. By far. I bought one a few weeks ago and I'm pretty impressed. Compatible with all stalker servers.

    Cheers

  9. #19
    Probation
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    no
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok, thanks for the directions and the information. I have not tried the beta "a7.10" update. I didn't know about it. I tried some of the other firmwares wich are able to be picked from the update section on the box itself.
    I tried the previous update from may or something. The latest update i think is the one from august 2016. I tried the one before that. Did not help.
    the box still showed the same issues. And i did change the remote from the remote option in the box, matching the remote that came with the box.
    My Mag256w1 has almost reached the store it came from. I am going to have a good look around for iptv players now. It may become the Dreamlink T1, or the Formuler 4k iptv box.
    Or maybe even another box. For now i am using the "Smart-STB" app on my Samsung tv. That is a Mag simulating app. It has the same menu's as the Mag boxes. Only difference is that
    it never freezes or restarts on its own, lol.

 

 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •