Register
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Probation
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    yes i do
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    Exclamation Enabling Dolby Digital 5.1 and DTS Audio on MAG254

    Hi everybody!
    Does anyone know how to enable the MAG254 to play DTS audio and Dolby Digital?
    On the tech specs they say "optional", what does it mean?
    Is there any additional fee to pay to enable the device playing those audio codecs?
    It is really frustrating I have plenty of MKV file with DTS audio track and cannot hear anything.
    Any reply will be much appreciated

    Thanks

  2. #2
    tux tux tux
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    in my head
    Posts
    828
    Rep Power
    25
    is it using a internal player? if so the manufactor might have chosen to leave out decoding/downsampling from the player because the hardware is not certified by dolby/dts.
    optional could very well mean that its possible though spdif/optical and a receiver* (you will need this in any case for listening to surround), or alternatively a player that decodes and downsamples ac3/dts to stereo whether the device is certified or not.

    * the receiver is of cause certified and the player just needs to pipe the sound ie. no decoding.

    i dont have a mag 254 but i've seen the issue before with other devices (lastest versions of mx player for android removed dts decoding/downsampling too), hopefully someone else with a mag 254 can help you on the way.
    Last edited by tuxen; 09-03-2015 at 10:40 AM.

  3. #3
    Moderator- Deceased K00lKatT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    6,504
    Rep Power
    163
    Tuxen is right on the money with this one...thks
    "This is my rifle, this is my gun, one is for shooting the other for fun"...Army marching cadence

  4. #4
    not a member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    yes i do
    Posts
    491
    Rep Power
    17
    I do not own a Mag but I do know about these type of setups. As already stated, the device must be licensed to be able to decode DTS and DD 5.1 and that is unlikely and you don't need that anyway. If you have a digital receiver that supports DTS and/or DD then it will decode it for you already as it is encoded in the sound track. Now how you connect it to your receiver will depend on what your receiver. If you have HDMI inputs on the receiver then the receiver may be able to get the audio from the HDMI if it is not pass through only. If it is a pass through only or you do not have HDMI, then you will need to connect the TSO Link (Fiber Optic) cable to the receiver.

  5. #5
    Probation
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello,

    I see lots of users of the Mag250/254.
    has anyone been able to get dolby Digital / surround sound / DTS out of their boxes on TV channels and Video Club ?
    or is it that our channel providers only offer stereo ?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Probation
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    yes I do
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    For some reason the options are hidden from the inner menu. Once I went to the settings menu from the portal there are options there and I got DTS running on my media player through my receiver. Settings > Audio > SPDIF : Bitstream . I am using Toslink to my receiver and this way I get DTS. When it was set to PCM I didnt.

  7. #7
    Junoir Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    MAG 256w2 Bitstream audio output reverts to PCM.

    Hello All,

    I have the MAG 256w2 and on the inner portal I set to: Operating Mode= Line Mode, SPDIF Mode= Bitstream, HDMI Audio= SPDIF
    On Settings Menu in Service Provider portal: Stereo, Bitsteam, SPDIF.

    The problem is even after setting SPDIF to Bitstream on the outer portal/provider menu and test on Sky Movies, the display on the Amplifier still shows NEO:6 CINEMA, rather than DOLBY DIGITAL etc, as you would expect, and when I go back to the Audio Menu to check it​ I see it's​
    changed back to PCM. (Which explains why DOLBY DIGITAL is not displayed on the Amp).

    Why does it revert back to PCM and not save on outer portal?​ Is this dependent or overridden by the provider?​



    ​If so, can you recommend any provider that offers Dolby Digital or DTS output?​

    Thanks for any help or advice.

    Andrew.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •